Professor Robin Williams receives IOP's highest honour

13 October 2014

Three distinguished physicists are to be made honorary fellows on Wednesday 15 October at the Institute of Physics’ annual Awards Dinner.

Robin Williams

The award - the highest honour that the IOP can bestow - will be conferred on Professor Sir Peter Knight, Becky Parker and Professor Robin Williams, who will join the existing 51 honorary fellows.

Professor Robin Williams is made an honorary fellow for his distinguished research in the field of semiconductor surfaces and interfaces, and his many contributions to development of physics research in Wales.

He headed the department of physics and astronomy at Cardiff University for 10 years before becoming vice-chancellor of Swansea University. A founding fellow of the Learned Society of Wales, a member of the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales and of the Science Advisory Council for Wales.

Cookie Settings